Speech or Occupational Therapist - wanted for support work

Position vacant : Mon/Tues 9-4

Speech or Occupational therapists only please (trainee or qualified)


This position is assisting with daily care for 3 (up to 5 on occasions - they arent scary don't worry!!) boys who have autism and other medical issues aged 20 down to 9.

You would be working in a team with 1-3 other staff at all times.

Children are exceptionally adorable, but do have some behavioral issues and significant sensory issues, and need to be kept amused and distracted constantly otherwise they tend to hit each other for amusement! Lots of cooking, outings, swimming and playing happens here to disguise therapy and work!

- Shift available is 9am – 4pm Monday and Tuesday ( these are fixed days/hours.........we cant alter them)

Happy to have one person doing one day and a second doing the other day though....but prefer the same person for both.

It is a family home, we are here nearly all the time, in and out as well, we are all very friendly as are the staff (that should be evidenced that some have been here 6 years now!) just one big happy family! :)

Main duties :

Delivering 1:1 therapy in the morning with mainly the 9yr old boy (HF.ASD / PDA / ADHD) delivering therapy, playing board games, cooking and assisting with his social skills.

You will also be required in the afternoons to assist with the other 4 children (minimum of 2 staff working), taking them to parks, outings, cooking, games, experiments - anything to keep them amused and not on computers!

Assisting with communication/social skills and safety at all times. Usually, there are only 3 children total, as the older ones 18 and 20 do their own thing with Tafe studies and outings with another support worker but on occasions, you may have all 5 at once with another experienced support worker.

They require assistance in all areas - two in nappies full time ( 9 and 13) who need supervision to change and full assistance if you are out somewhere, all require prompting or physical assistance with showering and teeth. Meals need to be prepared for all or at least assistance while they prepare them.

It is hoped that the person would be long term, as the children get attached to carers - most of our carers have been here for 3-6 years.........they come for a short time and stay a long time! :) We don't mind at all! It's great experience before heading out into a full-time position.

More hours may be available in the future.

****We also do expect ALL staff to be available for a few overnight 24-hour shifts - we only ask for a few days twice a year (always with another staff member) ......... for respite work (we have a short break while the children are minded at home 24/7)........


- Personal care for 9 and 13 yr old. Assisting other children with prompting and minor assistance.

- Following current OT and speech programs. Following sensory programs and charts, input always welcome

- Assisting with educational programs through therapy and games.

- Accompanying on outings.

- Meal preparation if at home, lunch usually – often multiple meals due to sensory needs and allergies.

- Some basic cleaning, to assist with maintaining cleanliness of areas used while here.

Skills required:

•* A bright fun nature, but also quite firm when the need arises. Not bossy.

•* Exceptional patience! They love to test patience a lot

•* Ideally an OT / Speech trainee or graduate

•* Must have or be prepared to get working with children's card and National police clearance (under 1 yr old)

Good hourly rates - we pay tax/super/insurance and workers comp as regulated by law. Immediate start for right person.

$30 p/h starting wage, higher if you are a graduate, also reviewed at 6 months.

Please contact me in the first instance with relevant work experience and any questions.

Thank you!

Type of support:
Personal care
Help around the home
Support out and about
Travel and holidays
Gender: Female
Qualifications and certificates:
National Police Clearance
Working with Children Check
Certificate III in Disability
Certificate IV in Disability
First Aid Certificate
Medication Certificate
Manual Handling Certificate
Drivers Licence
Own Vehicle
GST Registered
Other (specify in description)
Permission to work in Australia: Permenant Resident
Mon AM
Tues AM
Wed AM
Thu AM
Fri AM
Sat AM
Sun AM
Mon PM
Tues PM
Wed PM
Thu PM
Fri PM
Sat PM
Sun PM
Support Worker who works:
For an organisation
Extra information:
Speaks language other than English (specify in description)
Religion or faith (specify in description)
Happy to work with LGBTI people
Pet friendly
In order to get the right person we can promote your listing to our relevant networks. Promote my listing with Care Collective networks e.g. social media: Yes

Public discussion (0)

You must log in to send a new comment.