Host Family Wanted

Seeking a Host Family / Home Sharer for a 16 year old male for four nights a fortnight.
Week one: Thursday
Week two: Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

Interchange WA is a not-for-profit disability service provider that seeks to
provide flexible and personalized supports for people with disability that help them to live a good life. Interchange supports people and families across the greater Perth Metropolitan area through funding from the Disability Services Commission, NDIS and WA NDIS.

We are looking for an individual or family to share their home with a 16 year old male with a disability. His interests are going for drives, swimming, animals, horse riding, and going to the playground. This young man is non-verbal but communicates very well with his wants and needs, if you don’t understand what he wants he is able to use his iPad to communicate. He has a very good memory and enjoys looking up google maps on his iPad and then navigates the driver where to go. He has great interests in animals and people watching, food is a motivator which he enjoys. This young man works well when he is given choices. He does require assistance with cooking, personal care, and requires physical prompts for motivation. He would like to live with someone that has some of the same interests as he does as he is full of life and loads of fun. He is a very caring sensitive young man that has a lot of empathy for people.

This person is keen to find someone who has a good understanding of the Autism spectrum and knows how important it is to have routines and structure. Perfectly you live in proximity to the train or a good bus route, if you are open to sharing your home and helping them to develop their independent living skills. The idea area would be around northern wanaroo area, as he still attends butler cottage.

What is a Home Sharer?
Interchange believes that people with disability flourish when they live in the most home like environment as possible with people who believe in them, share their lives and help them to live as independently as possible. For people with disability who are no longer living with their family, Home sharing is one such option. Home sharing has been provided successfully across Australia for many years and enriches the lives for all involved.

A Home Sharer is an individual or family that is open and willing to share their home and life with others. It offers stability, companionship, security and the opportunity to maintain and establish relationships, social connections and share in new life experiences. Home share arrangements vary, depending on the unique needs, lifestyle and preferences of the person with a disability and the people who share their home. Home Sharing can be provided on a short term basis as occasional respite, on a fixed term basis to help someone develop skills for independent living or on a long term basis. Each Home share relationship is as unique as the hundreds of people we support.
Home Sharers are not employees of Interchange, but do get a tax-free payment (as a reimbursement) and also have ongoing access to support from Interchange staff. We would be happy to provide more information regarding the reimbursement and what this covers or any questions regarding how to be a Home Sharer.

To find out more about being a Home Sharer or to talk to us about the opportunity to support this opportunity please contact

John Fulker 0439 329 777

Target group age:
Early Childhood
Late adolescence / Post-school
Aged Care

Public discussion (0)

You must log in to send a new comment.