Seeking OT/Speech Students or Grads or Support Workers

We are seeking 1-2 new members for our awesome team of therapists and support workers for our boys (and cats!).

We have 5 terribly incredibly awesome boys who all have an Autism diagnosis, Ehlers Danlos syndrome and ADHD, plus various other individuals "diagnoses" including I.D, Marfans, asthma, anxiety, depression, bipolar, anaphylaxis, lupus, coeliac, PDA and more.

Cat lover a must - we have 7!!

The children/adults are 21 down to age 10.

You would be required to work either morning shifts 9-1pm on a 1:1 basis with one of the younger three children doing therapy programs as given by the speech and OT team managing the kids - its fairly straight forward material that allows for you to put your own stamp of creativity and individuality on it as well. Quite flexible. Including some basic physio programs as well, cooking and general life skills.

And/OR

Afternoons 1-4pm - if you work that shift they are often spent with 1 or all 5 boys (with 1-2 other support staff) playing games, going on outings, swimming, cooking and more!

Generally just keeping them active and amused, learning new life skills and keeping them apart and from trying to hit each other!!!! (they do love to tease and hit each other given half the chance as soon as they are bored!!).

Some staff work both shifts and some days we have staff only working morning shifts, while other staff do all day.

As I need a few staff I will be deciding who does what shifts and days at a later stage.

At this stage we look to need staff for Monday/Tuesday (with the possibility of a Wed/Thurs in the near future as we may have a staff member leaving soon)

The boys are reasonably easy to work with inside the house, they require constant prompting and some hygiene promoting and or assistance for the younger two.

-All meals are to be made or assistance to be given for the lunch and breakfast meals.
-Assistance with teeth brushing.
-Assistance with general chores like making thier beds and tidying thier rooms etc.
-general tidying of messes that you or the children make (dishes/games you get out etc)

Outside the house they struggle and require significant safety and communication assistance and prompting.

There is support given to new staff until they are comfortable and always 2-3 staff working together.

We do also ask that all staff be willing to work a few times a year doing 24 hour sleep over shifts with 1 other staff member for respite breaks that we take a few times a year...... usually pretty stress free and paid at a good rate (you get to sleep!! and always with another staff member never alone!).

**** We do have 7 (yes seven!!) cats so please be aware of that if you have allergies as they are indoor cats - they are the children's therapy cats for anxiety!)****

-Working with children's cert will be needed prior to starting
-National police clearance will be required.
-First aid cert is preferred.

$30 p/hour depending on experience/ qualifications/ studying field etc (plus super and we also pay workers comp etc etc)

(slightly higher rates for speech/OT/psych graduates)

** MOBILE PHONE use is not allowed in this workplace during shifts - phones must be left on silent/vibrate and not used except on lunch break, and most certainly not while on outings ..... so please don't apply if you cant do this **

Type of support:
Personal care
Help around the home
Support out and about
Travel and holidays
Years experience: 1+
Gender: Female
Qualifications and certificates:
Degree
National Police Clearance
Working with Children Check
Certificate III in Disability
Certificate IV in Disability
First Aid Certificate
Medication Certificate
Manual Handling Certificate
Drivers Licence
Own Vehicle
ABN
GST Registered
Other (specify in description)
Permission to work in Australia: Permenant Resident
Availability:
Mon AM
Tues AM
Wed AM
Thu AM
Fri AM
Sat AM
Sun AM
Mon PM
Tues PM
Wed PM
Thu PM
Fri PM
Sat PM
Sun PM
Overnights
Support Worker who works:
Independently
For an organisation
Extra information:
Speaks language other than English (specify in description)
Religion or faith (specify in description)
Happy to work with LGBTI people
Pet friendly
Non-smoker
In order to get the right person we can promote your listing to our relevant networks. Promote my listing with Care Collective networks e.g. social media: Yes

Public discussion (0)

You must log in to send a new comment.